Kansas poses serious penalties for anyone convicted of a DUI charge with a previous DUI conviction on their record. As of July 1, 2012, the DUI laws for multiple offenders were significantly revamped. In order to be subject to the enhancement penalties that come with a multiple DUI conviction, only convictions after July 1, 2001 will be considered.
Arrested for DUI in Johnson County?
Whether you face a second, third, fourth or subsequent DUI charge, you can expect very harsh penalties that increase exponentially. At Garretson & Toth, LLC, our legal team of Olathe DUI attorneys has dedicated years of legal practice to gaining a solid grasp of the Kansas DUI laws and we have handled numerous multiple DUI cases.
Contact our firm to speak with an Olathe DUI defense attorney from our firm.
It is important to note that the financial costs of any multiple DUI conviction are incredibly severe. Aside from fines, there are numerous ongoing costs that offenders face, including impound fees, treatment program fees, IID fees and many others. These financial strains can be severe and can negatively impact you and your family's well-being.
In Addition to Fines, the Penalties Can Include:
- Second DUI - A second DUI is a class A misdemeanor. Penalties include jail sentences starting at a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of one year. Large fines and fees, license suspensions, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), and court ordered treatment programs are among the other consequences.
- Third DUI - In Kansas, a third DUI conviction will result in a class A misdemeanor if the prior conviction did not occur within 10 years, and a felony if it occurred within 10 years. Fines increase to a maximum of $2,500 and jail sentences can be as much as one year. Alternative sentencing options such as work release are possible only after 72 consecutive hours of jail time have been served.
- Fourth DUI - Four or more DUI convictions will result in felony offenses. Jail time increases significantly from a minimum of 180 days to a maximum of one year. In order to be eligible for work release a minimum of 144 consecutive hours of jail time must be served. In addition, offenders face increased fines, one year license suspensions, installation of an IID, court order treatment and Kansas Department of Corrections post-release supervision for one year.
Defending Multiple DUIs in Olathe
The price to pay for any multiple DUI conviction is simply too much to allow yourself to not consult a qualified and experienced DUI attorney in Olathe. When undertaking these cases, our specialized DUI lawyers root through every available option to determine the most appropriate plan of action. When necessary, we also have the negotiation skills needed to reach alternative sentencing options in lieu of jail time. With an emphasis on meeting the needs of our criminal defense clients and preserving their freedom, our firm is a strong choice for legal representation.
“Scott's legal skills & finesse, courtroom experience, and commitment to this case were critical.”
“Because of you we have our son back with us, in our lives, every day, to touch, hug and converse with.”
“Your professionalism and compassion were outstanding.”
“I think you did a great job of making certain that the jurors kept their eye on the facts.”
“In our eyes, you went above and beyond what a lawyer usually does in a case.”
Aggressively Defending Our Clients for Over 57 Years
We Provide a Unique and Specialized Experience for Each Client Facing Criminal Charges
Our Firm Provides a Confidential Free Case Consultations
We Are Accessible to Our Clients and Will Return All Calls the Same Day
Our Team Is Committed to Obtaining the Best Possible Outcome for Our Clients
We Are Former Prosecutors, Armed With Invaluable Insights